Calder Foundation

Calder Prize

The Calder Prize honors a contemporary artist whose innovative work reflects the continued legacy of Calder’s genius. It is awarded biennially to an artist who has completed exemplary and innovative early work and who has demonstrated the potential to make a major contribution to the field. Created by the Calder Foundation in collaboration with the Scone Foundation in 2005, the Calder Prize grew out of the success of the Atelier Calder residency program located at Calder’s former studio in Saché, France. The Prize consists of $50,000, the opportunity for a three-month residency at the Atelier Calder, and the facilitation of a gift of the recipient’s defining works to a major public collection.

Past Recipients

Rosa Barba 2019

Aki Sasamoto 2023

Jill Magid 2017

Haroon Mirza 2015

Darren Bader 2013

Rachel Harrison 2011

Tomás Saraceno 2009

Žilvinas Kempinas 2007

Tara Donovan 2005